A specific observation I’ve had about the last decade or so is society’s dwindling sense of humor.  Whether I agree or not with certain opinions or politics, I recognize the need to address serious concerns.  We all have it in us to want justice served, needs satisfied, and to see the world made better in various ways.  Something else to consider is how humor plays an underrated role in how we work through our tragedies and challenges. 

I’ve noticed my adolescent child makes a habit of invoking remarks about death to try and make something funny.  It sounds odd on the surface – and I’ve had an occasion or two of wincing when he does this.  Those around tweens or teens may know what I’m talking about.  It’s their habit of twisting something innocent into something humorous in a gloomy way. I did the same thing at that age.  It’s more juvenile than the dark comedy a professional comedian might use. It’s also interesting to examine why we (or at least some) do this.  It’s a way to deal with the reality of impending disasters and disappointments in life I suppose.  To take hold of it and make it what we want… before it takes hold of us.  To change usual things or events into something so absurd that it becomes funny.  Whether exceptionally dark/black or not, that’s what humor is, isn’t it?  Finding amusement in daily life is seeing foolish abstraction in the ordinary.  There are those who are gifted in the way they can deliver those observations – through stand-up comedy, improv production, music, or acting.  As deeply as a dramatic performance can touch us, so too does something exceptionally funny – sometimes even more so.  I would argue more importantly so. 

I went with my wife and a few friends to see Tropic Thunder in a movie theater when it was first released.  I remember the preview and how it looked funny… though I didn’t think much more about it beyond that.  It was just a casual evening out with friends.  I recall how crowded the theater was – and I especially remember a couple of black ladies a few rows in front of us who consistently howled laughing at the ridiculousness throughout the movie.  I think even in 2008, before much of the “progressive” culture took hold, I wasn’t sure what to make of Robert Downy Jr.’s black face appearance on the big screen – but somehow those ladies helped make it OK for us to enjoy the humor together.  That’s such a good thing… and something we need more of. 

In recent years, I’ve heard actors be criticized for playing roles depicting gay, handicapped, or other characters that they themselves are not.  I understand the motive is to give those roles to individuals who may have been previously marginalized.  Ironically, an actor – playing a character they are not – is exactly what acting is.  Done exceptionally well, they win awards for that… and deservedly so.  No matter the actor’s gender, sexual orientation, disability, or race status – I want the best person I can find for the job.  Really, for any job.  This seems like common sense.  Picking a person for something based on reasons other than their qualifications, skill, and character isn’t just more discriminatory, it makes the end result less reliable.  With all this being said, it becomes refreshing to marvel at Robert Downy Jr.’s performance in Tropic Thunder.  His expressions, his mannerisms, his voice.  All pretty remarkable.  He’s said in interviews, when confronted with some pushback, that he knew where his heart was when he accepted the role.  His portrayal came from a place of both satire and affection.  Not limited to Downy, the array of talented cast members only heightened the presentation. The entirety of the movie is a depiction of the extreme ludicracy that often dominates the world of movie production and acting.  In my opinion, what This Is Spinal Tap was to the music industry, Tropic Thunder offered the same commentary about the movie industry. 

I’d like to think we can all get back to enjoying the wider spectrum of comedy again.  Not all humor is for everyone.  We know this by now.  In personal situations, when someone doesn’t want to hear certain humor, it’s usually better to respect their wishes and move on.  When it’s a show or some other large-scale entertainment, we’re not obligated to participate either.  To me, Tropic Thunder is one of those movies that most people tend to like if they give it a chance – rather than trashing it based on overly delicate sensibilities. In the spirit of older movies like Blazing Saddles and Airplane!, no one is excluded from good-natured mockery in Tropic Thunder.  It seems to me… that’s the way comedy should be. 

Leave a comment